Not a member yet?
Click here to register.

Forgotten your password?
Request a new one here.
Site Tally
Reviews: 6674
Comments: 17108
Messages: 8713
Ratings: 4176
Forum Posts: 20715
Forum Threads: 3598
GDM YouTube Channel
GDM on Facebook
Reckless (Sweden) - 2004 Reckless
» Posted by Avatar

on December 02 2004, In 1994 Articles , 1 Comment , 2071 Reads , Print

ARTIST: Reckless (Sweden)
ALBUM: Reckless
LABEL: Xero Corporation
YEAR: 1994
CD REISSUE: 2004, MTM Classix, SPV 085-59692
SPONSOR: RiotOz Distribution


LINEUP: Patrick Axelsson - vocals * Robert Monegrim - guitars, vocals * Johan Romert - keyboards, vocals * Magnus Ostborg - bass * Stefan Orhamn - drums

TRACK LISTING: 01 Back In Town * 02 Mirror * 03 Livin' Without You * 04 Give Me Your Night * 05 Spirit Of The Night * 06 Stay * 07 Got You On My Mind * 08 Get Excited / Rock The Nation * 09 Liar * 10 All Their Needs * 11 Crimes Of Passion * 12 Give Her A Sign * 13 Can't Reach The Limit * 14 Livin' Without You (Bonus) * 15 Hot Sweet Lovin' (Bonus) * 16 Sallys Rime Give Her A Sign (Bonus)

Reckless were a Swedish band, and were previously known as Line Up. They came out around the turn of the 90's decade whereby they had released an album called 'Lucky One'. They became Reckless in 1993, and as a consequence, heavied up their sound considerably when new boys Robert Monegrim and Stefan Orhamn joined. If you can imagine an amalgam of Swedes 220 Volt ('Eye To Eye' era), Spellbound, Treat, Dalton, and Germans Jaded Heart and Bonfire then you'll have some idea as to what's being achieved here. Musically, it's not too bad actually, perhaps if they came out a few years earlier then they might have achieved something way back when. The band put out a three-track demo in 1993, enough to interest the then super Japanese label Zero Corporation. A month later a deal was signed, and then the panic went on to try and write some decent material for an album release. By mid 1994 'Reckless' the album was out on the streets in Japan, and that is where we last left Reckless.. until now. German label MTM Music have come to the rescue again ten years later, and resurrected this from some long-lost Tokyo vault, and it becomes an addition to their burgeoning Classix roster.

The Songs
Sound wise we've got very heavy (but very melodic) guitar riffing going on. The vocals of Axelsson are an acquired taste, but not overly so. I've heard worse. Reckless are saved by the fact that they can write half-decent songs, and as a reference marker I'm gonna refer to that 220 Volt classic 'Eye To Eye' as a case in point, though the Reckless arrangements are a tad heavier. A good selection of tracks, my faves include: the Dalton approved 'Liar', 'All Their Needs', opener 'Back In Town' and the storming 'Get Excited/Rock The Nation'. The album also contains three bonus tracks, but really with sixteen tracks onboard, it is truly good value for money! If however there is one gripe, it would be that among sixteen tracks, they couldn't find room for a simple ballad. It would've been nice to hear a change-up moment from a band with this much class, I'm sure they would've sounded great with an acoustic guitar and layered keyboards!

In Summary
Apparently, the band have gotten together to write some new material. Whether it culminates in a new album we're not quite sure. A good addition to the MTM Classix label though, but again, you'd have to ask yourself whether this is in fact a classic. I'll leave that judgment up to you.

All written content on this website is copyrighted.
Copying of material without permission is not permitted.

This article has been tagged
Facebook Comments
#1 | sabace on August 04 2008 03:42:40
I bought this thinking it was the Canadian band and was pleasantly surprised , O K hard rock !
Post Comment
Please Login to Post a Comment.
Rating is available to Members only.

Please login or register to vote.

No Ratings have been Posted.
Our Friends
comments powered by Disqushttp://gdm.glorydazemusic.com/articles.php?article_id=263
Google (0), Yahoo (0), msnbot (0), AskJeeves (0),